Agriculture Media

Black polyethylene tarps can suppress weeds, preserve soil moisture, and help prepare a clean planting bed for vegetable farmers.

Thursday, December 20, 2018

Join us as we talk to Kitty O'Neil and Mike Hunter of CCE's North Country Regional Ag team about this years harvest.

Thursday, December 20, 2018

Cornell Cooperative Extension’s Regional Dairy Specialists, Betsy Hicks and Lindsay Ferlito, are working together on a research project, studying cow comfort in tie stall facilities.

Thursday, December 20, 2018

Tim reviews the past 100 podcasts in overview and would like to thank the growers, cooperators, funders and staff for their contributions over the past years and we look forward to producing more p

Wednesday, December 19, 2018

Soil sampling is an important part of managing your crops, but it's important to do it correctly. In this video, ENYCHP vegetable specialist Amy Ivy demonstrates how to take a soil sample.

Monday, December 17, 2018

Hans Walter-Peterson, Finger Lakes Grape Program and Tim Wiegle, Lake Erie Regional Grape Program share grape season and harvest highlights.

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

First in a series of podcasts about vineyard Integrated Pest Management (IPM).

Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Millions of times each day, New Yorkers turn on the faucet, relying on water supplied from about 125 miles away in the Catskill Mountains.

Thursday, November 29, 2018

LERGP Podcast #97: Kevin gives an update on what has been reported by processors to this point for the 2018 grape market.

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Just a reminder to be on the lookout for hitchhiking invasive pests. The spotted lanternfly poses a serious threat to our agriculture here in NYS.

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Meet Barbara Williams and Anika Zuber, Dairy Processing and Marketing specialists with Harvest New York.

Monday, November 19, 2018

Tim gives more information about what people in New York need to be looking for this time of year in regards to Spotted Lanternfly.

Friday, November 16, 2018

Tim gives an update on what has been happening in Pennsylvania with the Spotted Lanternfly, what has been done there, and what we need to be on the lookout for in New York.

Friday, November 16, 2018

Kevin continues to explain about the Vineyard Improvement Program and what needs to be included in the application process.

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

This season explores the 2018 growing season and harvest with episodes on vegetables, berries & apples, wild harvest table, grapes and more! 

Monday, November 12, 2018

In this week's ENYCHP Pest Update, learn to scout thrips with vegetable specialist Crystal Stewart! Originally filmed June 2018.

Friday, November 9, 2018

New York State Ag and Markets along with the Lake Erie Regional Grape Program have announced a Vineyard Improvement Plan for Concord grape growers in the Southern Tier as well as Erie and Niagara c

Wednesday, November 7, 2018

New York state is the second-largest apple producer in the U.S. The state also produces more than 5 million gallons of hard cider annually.

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

With the harvest over and winter on its way, Tim wanted to remind everyone about late season weed control. Remember that you need temperatures around 50°F for the products to work.

Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Large acreage vegetable fields lend themselves readily to remote sensing technologies.

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Season 2 Episode 2: 3 CCE specialists in the field share highlights from the growing season and harvest.

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Farmers across NYS are harvesting industrial hemp.

Friday, October 26, 2018

Harvest is just about finished in the Lake Erie Region. Kevin gives a top view recap of how harvest went industry wide across the belt.

Wednesday, October 24, 2018

Tim had an opportunity to sit down with Mark Amidon of National Grape Cooperative, a local grape processing company known by many as Welch's.

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

Season 2 Episode 1: Ethan Grundberg and Judson Reid, two CCE vegetable specialist discuss the growing season and the 2018 harvest.

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

We are firmly in the middle of Concord harvest in the Lake Erie Region. Here is a snapshot of what that looks like from the grower's/harvester's perspective.

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

The Efficient Vineyard website will be getting a new look.

Wednesday, October 3, 2018

Learn to use a sous vide device to heat treat seeds as a simple, economical way to control diseases.

Monday, October 1, 2018

Commercial apple pickers utilize a platform to harvest Gala apples at DeMarree Fruit Farm in Wayne County, N.Y.

Monday, October 1, 2018

We are harvesting Concord grapes here in the Lake Erie Grape Belt. At the research and extension lab we are working to measure yield and Brix on-the-fly.

Wednesday, September 26, 2018

On September 11, 2018 the New York State Departments of Environmental Conservation (DEC) and Agriculture and Markets (DAM) sent out a press release that Spotted Lanternfly has been confirmed in Alb

Tuesday, September 25, 2018

Tim talks about the other side of Digital Ag - Record Keeping! He stresses how important it is for growers to keep records. There's no time like the present.

Wednesday, September 12, 2018

Spanning acres of high density orchard trees, hail netting can provide a critical layer of protection for NYS apples from disfiguring weather damage.

Monday, September 10, 2018

Guests Jerry Bertoldo, dairy specialist with CCE Northwest NY Dairy, Livestock & Field Crops Program and Tom Overton, CCE associate director and director of PRO-DIARY, discuss CCE programs supp

Friday, September 7, 2018

This summer, 25 teachers from across New York learned how to build and care for Tower Gardens and integrate the structures into their curriculum as a context for learning.

Friday, September 7, 2018

Tim explains the importance of preharvest pest control - both powdery mildew and grape berry moth, and emphasizes the importance of reading product labels before applying.

Thursday, September 6, 2018

Dr. Andrew Novakovic, E.V.

Wednesday, September 5, 2018

Goals, business plan, forest ecology, production, planning and record keeping, inoculation, maket assessment and more. 

Saturday, September 1, 2018

Learn about the benefits of silvopasture and how to get started. 

Sunday, August 5, 2018

Get a glimpse into the life of an Oyster farmer and how they came to choosing that as a career.

Wednesday, August 1, 2018

Julie Suarez, Associate Dean of Governmental and Community Relations in the College of Agriculture and Life Science at Cornell University, discusses the history and process of passing the farm bill

Tuesday, July 24, 2018

in this video we will cover best practices for interviewing job candidates, new hire orientation and training workers.

Thursday, July 12, 2018

In this video we discuss some of the risks that you would face as an agricultural employer and some resources to help you manage those risks.

Thursday, July 12, 2018

CCE educators and specialists lend their expertise to the Green Shoots for New Americans inner city farm in Buffalo, New York.

Monday, June 25, 2018

Learn about our SPAT Program that has been in operation for over 18 years. Suffolk Project in Aquaculture Training.

Monday, June 25, 2018

Learn just how unique our local shellfish really are!

Wednesday, June 20, 2018